Whole wheat pancakes, every Saturday morning

If you’ve ever visited our house on Saturday morning, chances are you’ve eaten pancakes with us. We like this whole wheat version very much. I began trying out whole wheat recipes 15 years ago as we weaned ourselves away from Bisquick dependence. My husband, Ed, though has become the true pancake master and this recipe is his creation. I’m offering it to you again, this time with a small improvement in the amount of leavening. Too much baking powder will give off a metallic taste, not enough and the pancakes will be flat.

Two things now, about syrup: Why not top your pancakes with unsweetened applesauce, instead? Applesauce is really quite tasty on pancakes. It is sweet, but not crazy sweet. It’s also much, much better for you.

Of course, special occasions call for special sweetness. Maple syrup is pricey, but nothing, nothing compares with maple syrup.   It is very thin and even sweeter per measure than corn-syrup-pancake-syrup.  As we tell the kids, “A little goes a long way!” The stores I go to generally sell Grade A syrup, but foodies will tell you that Grade B syrup actually has more flavor; it’s also a bit cheaper. Go for Grade B if you can get it.

But enough about that. Here is the pancake recipe.

1 cup white flour

1 cup wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 T. baking powder

1 T. sugar (optional.  Ed puts in it.  I leave it out.)

2 eggs

5 T. yogurt (or melted butter or oil)

2 c. milk plus 1 T. vinegar

First step: measure out your milk and add the vinegar.  Let stand.  The acid in the vinegar will work on the milk a bit to make a hurry-up buttermilk.  Stir together dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Add in milk mixture, eggs and yogurt (or butter or oil).  Stir.

Pour batter onto a heated, buttered griddle.  Cook and flip.  Flip and eat.

Have a great morning!

 

P.S.  Here is the link to the pancake recipe we shared a couple years back.

About onlifeandbeans

I like to make the adventure taste good by cooking tasty, wholesome food. Most of what I've learned in cooking, I've picked up from cookbooks and lots of practice. (Thank you, Fannie Farmer, for the right start. ) I so appreciate cookbooks that tell how and why to do something; that's why I do the same for my readers. I want to know what is in my food. I want my family to sit down and share a meal together. I want our food to taste good. Home-cooking takes time, but it gives back rich dividends in budget minding, good health and familial love. One meal at a time.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for all your healthy suggestions!! Can’t wait to try the whole wheat pancakes!

    Reply
  2. Brandi, I hope you do try them and enjoy them!

    Reply

Leave a comment