RSS Feed

Mapleine. She deserves her very own song.

There are three ways to avoid dependence on high-fructose-corn-syrup-pancake syrup.

1) Enjoy expensive, tapped from the tree maple syrup, naturally fortified with iron and other vitamins.

2) Top pancakes with applesauce and peanut butter instead.

3) Put on your apron and pearls and take a two-step back in time to….

A few times I remember my mother making Mapleine pancake syrup.  She’d say, “We’re out of syrup, so I’ll just make some.”  I thought she was just amazing, stirring up syrup out of nothing.   I think I can also picture a bottle very much like this one up in my Grandmother Helen’s spice cabinet, right next to the milk glass, red metal lid spice jars.  Perhaps it’s the nostalgia that’s flavoring my Mapleine, but nonetheless, I wanted to share the wonder of it with you.

Mapleine is inexpensive.  I bought this bottle at a Walmart for just over $2.38.  Following the instructions printed on the label, I can make 3 gallons of syrup.  The end cost will be lower than purchasing even the lowest cost HFCS pancake syrup.  Plus, if I can make my own syrup right there at home, I don’t have to say, “Sorry, kids, no pancakes this morning because we’re out of syrup.”

And this is a child, herself, making the syrup.

Mapeleine doesn’t taste like real maple syrup.  Mapeleine doesn’t taste like Kroger corn-syrup-pancake-syrup-with-imitation-butter-flavor.  Mapleine is Mapleine.  You’ll have to try it to see.  Let me know if you do, and what you think of it.

About onlifeandbeans

I like to make the adventure taste good by cooking tasty, wholesome food. Most of what I've learned in cooking, I've picked up from cookbooks and lots of practice. (Thank you, Fannie Farmer, for the right start. ) I so appreciate cookbooks that tell how and why to do something; that's why I do the same for my readers. I want to know what is in my food. I want my family to sit down and share a meal together. I want our food to taste good. Home-cooking takes time, but it gives back rich dividends in budget minding, good health and familial love. One meal at a time.

6 responses »

  1. Andrea I’ve been making Mother’s syrup for almost 50 years!

    Reply
  2. Love your blog. Loved your bread recipe. We make it all the time now. Forgot about mapleine until I read this. My mom used to make it too. Bought some today At the store to try my hand at it, my mom was with me and she was so proud! Lol.

    By the way, I also have 6 children and we homeschool. My van is maroon though 🙂

    Love your blog. Wish we could meet sometime. I’m in south Florida.

    Keep on cooking and blogging.

    Heidi

    Reply
  3. I love Mapleine! I think it has a pretty decent maple flavor. A little goes a long way though. Add a hint to baked oatmeal, make maple walnut muffins, or pumpkin cupcakes with maple buttercream frosting. Yum!
    And how timely is this post. I promised my kids pancakes for supper tonight and then remembered we had no syrup so we had eggs and toast instead. I forgot all about the Mapleine in the cupboard. Oh well! Now I know what we are having for supper tomorrow. Plan dinner? Check.

    I enjoy following your blog. We have 5 children, all teens now. We are finding ourselves needing to be REALLY frugal lately. I LOVE beans and I LOVE that they are frugal. Do you have any ideas on how to get your kids and husband to like them? I’ll have to go look through your archives.

    Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
    • You asked about helping family members eat beans. Well, we have always eaten beans all along, but I do see many of my friends struggle with this issue. I hear my beloved friends say things like, “I hate beans, I cannot stand the texture, I will never eat beans, they will never eat beans……) I’ve seen people speak pronouncements over their children that they will “never eat beans.” The thing about kids is that their tastes can change so much, as long as they don’t get it ingrained in their heads that they “can’t” eat something. I think better things to say are “you haven’t tried it enough times yet.” How many times is enough? I don’t know, like sixty? “You will like beans someday….”

      Sometimes folks can benefit from a gradual introduction to something like hummus on pita chips. Yep, those are beans! My friend who just totally upsets herself over bean “skins” can eat bitefuls of my lentil soup. When lentils cook up, they get quite pulverized.

      Some other things that really help us are knowing some things from scripture–God created the world and said it was good. I take that to mean legumes, so if He said they are good, who am I to say they are nasty? When Jesus sent out his disciples as missionaries, he told them to eat what was given to them. My husband directed a touring acting group for many years. He always encouraged his students to eat what was set before them. I think we honor people when we can eat what they have worked so hard to prepare for us. My best hope is that my kids could go to someone’s home and gratefully receive the food given them. And then, I think that there are many people in the world who live on beans. Without beans they would die!

      I think kids eat beans when their parents eat beans in front of them. 🙂 But I will say that if a child doesn’t like beans, it is a great kindness to teach the child to refrain from talking about it. I cannot tell you the number of time I’ve had children and grownups come into my house and say obnoxiously, “I don’t eat THAT.”

      I don’t have any idea what gets unwilling husbands to eat beans.

      When you find the answer to that one, write a book and sell it for a mint.

      Reply
      • Andrea,
        Thank you for the reminder that if the kids don’t care for something they can refrain from talking about it. I think I let that go on without even thinking about it. I need to make sure I’m setting the example when it comes to things I don’t care for.
        And you are right, it is honoring the other person when we can graciously accept what is put before us, being thankful that someone even took the time to prepare a meal for us.
        All of this honors God! 🙂
        Have a beautiful day!

Leave a Reply

