RSS Feed

Tomato Pie. Serious Southern.

I highly recommend moving to the south and having a baby in July or August.  With any luck, your gracious neighbor will stand in a hot kitchen all afternoon, pouring her love into a fresh-out-of-the garden tomato pie.  It may not cure sleep deprivation or PPD, but the tears you cry will be tears of happy fat rapturous joy.

I give you:  The tomato pie. Oh mercy, the photo is bad.  Bad. But that is ONE HOT PIE.

At this point, you can google Paula Deen and see how she makes it.  You could also keep reading and take a chance on my version. Keep in mind that I only make this once a year—-just after someone loads me up with fresh garden tomatoes.  We enjoy it so much that there is usually  a small loving squabble over the last piece.***  We serve our “pie” with a summer meal of black eyed peas (or purple hulls!), greens, fresh sliced cucumbers, fresh green beans, hot sweet corn, or any other garden produce we can lay hands on.

Prepare a pie crust and prebake.  For heaven’s sake, don’t use shortening.  The trans fats will kill you.

Peel and slice several fresh tomatoes–probably about 4. Place tomatoes in a colander to drain.

Chop 10-15 fresh basil leaves if you can get some.  Set aside.  Otherwise, you can use about 1-2 t. of dried basil.

Slice a big sweet onion and carmelize in a big skillet.  Set aside.

Meanwhile, stir up 1 cup MAYO with 1 1/2c. monterey jack cheese.  Don’t even think about using low fat stuff.

Now you are ready to layer your pie.

Place a layer of tomatoes on the bottom of your prebaked crust.  Top with a smothering spoonful of the mayo/cheese mixture.  Top this with a sprinkling of basil, salt and pepper if you like, and carmelized onions.

Start another layer of tomatoes and repeat with the mayo mixture, basil, spices, and onion.

Repeat again if you have enough tomatoes–After you have ended with your last layer of basil and onions, top with a generous helping of monterey jack cheese and freshly grated parmesan.

Bake in the oven at 350 until the pie is a bubbling mass of ooey goodness.  Maybe 30 minutes?  Maybe more? ( I don’t know your oven.  Mine is slower than a kid assigned to yard clean up duty.)

Blessings on your pie.

*** We all enjoy it but that one child.    Next summer, can I send that one child over to your house to eat hot dogs while we enjoy tomato pie?  Tomato Pie is so much better if someone isn’t weeping while you eat it.  We do want that one child back though, because we love her!

About onlifeandbeans

I like to make the adventure taste good by cooking tasty, wholesome food. Most of what I've learned in cooking, I've picked up from cookbooks and lots of practice. (Thank you, Fannie Farmer, for the right start. ) I so appreciate cookbooks that tell how and why to do something; that's why I do the same for my readers. I want to know what is in my food. I want my family to sit down and share a meal together. I want our food to taste good. Home-cooking takes time, but it gives back rich dividends in budget minding, good health and familial love. One meal at a time.

4 responses »

  1. She come come visit Aunt Amy, who also does not like tomato pie.

    Reply
  2. Looks yummy!

    Reply
  3. I can’t imagine which child doesn’t like Tomato Pie!!!

    Reply
  4. Sounds YUMMY!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

