RSS Feed

solace in gummy bears

The list:

cheap hot dogs, cheap buns, cheap marshmallows, cheap fake BBQ chips, cheap graham crackers, cheap marshmallows, 2 real Hershey’s bars.

The reason:

I’m getting a little tired of this nauseous shocked sadness.  The people cry to me that they must eat and so I stand in the kitchen and stare into the pantry.  Lentils look back at me with their boring, healthy, regular, 40 minutes to cook faces.  I cannot cook you today, I think.  If I cooked you today, that would mean everything was alright.  It would mean I have the emotional energy to meal-plan.  It would mean that I care enough about next week to want to fix decent food today.

So, instead, I think about the comforting easy saltiness of processed cheese food powder poured over dead pasta.  I think about the tangy burst of high fructose corn syrup wrapped up with love in the arms of  gummy bears.  Yes, and fill up my constant blue cup with hot, black coffee.  What else do I need besides coffee and gummy bears?  Do the kids need something besides mac ‘n cheese?

Well, the lentils will still be there after the processed-food fetish wanes.  But today, friends, I pass the chips and roast the mallow.

Cheers.

About onlifeandbeans

I like to make the adventure taste good by cooking tasty, wholesome food. Most of what I've learned in cooking, I've picked up from cookbooks and lots of practice. (Thank you, Fannie Farmer, for the right start. ) I so appreciate cookbooks that tell how and why to do something; that's why I do the same for my readers. I want to know what is in my food. I want my family to sit down and share a meal together. I want our food to taste good. Home-cooking takes time, but it gives back rich dividends in budget minding, good health and familial love. One meal at a time.

3 responses »

  1. You need some of that licorice from Fresh Market, too. Go eat more gummy bears!

    Reply
  2. hello, i read your third day they are many i am one post on wtm, and i followed you here, and i love your blog and possibly you. i shall now put it into my aggregator so that you will not even see hits when i read you, which sounds like a good thing but … well, anyway, i am reading.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

