RSS Feed

Black Bean Burgers

Love those black bean burgers at Chili’s Restaurants. I have not quite achieved that kind of perfection here at home, but after a couple attempts, I’ve got a work-in-progress recipe that we will keep making.  Jerilyn sent me a recipe to start with–so thanks, Jerilyn!

Most of the recipes I’ve found online and including the one my friend sent, require a food processor.  We actually don’t have a food processor and when I tried it  in the blender, I was left with  2 T. of black sludge and 2 c. of perfectly preserved beans and onion.  The blender was out.  So, apparently, was the egg that I forgot.  I just have trouble following directions….and on top of that the uncooked onion chunks were a little much for even me, the onion eater.

On to the second attempt.  I’ve found that I can make black bean patties with a potato masher, no egg (yay, lower cholerterol!) and grated onions that add flavor, but no weirdo crunch in my soft bean patty.  This recipe is super easy and cooks up SUPER FAST.  It is also SUPER GOOD-FOR-YOU and SUPER LOW BUDGET.  I hope you will try it—–we really enjoyed them.

INGREDIENTS:

1 can black beans, WELL DRAINED

about 1/3 c. of quick oats (I think instant would work, too.  If you have Old-fashioned oats you may want to grind them up in a coffee grinder or blender first)

a few tablespoons of finely grated onion

seasonings–chilli powder, cumin, but especially SALT.  Did I mention you need SALT for these?

COMBINE all ingredients, mash up with a potato masher.  Form mixture with your hands into small patties–you can get about 5 happy meal size burgers out of one can.  (We use two cans and double the recipe for our family).  The mixture will look very strangely light colored–but the patty will cook up dark brown as the oatmeal cooks into the bean mixture.

Heat a heavy skillet and oil to cover the bottom of the pan.  Fry your patties for about 3 minutes per side.  They will get a bit crispy–but they really isn’t burnt.  Ummm, unless you burn them.   These cook super fast.

We served ours one night with buns–that was tasty.  The second night I had no buns, so we had patties topped with a delicious salsa, pasta and veggies on the side.  Salsa, sour cream, any kind of sauce is great for a topping.

Let me know if you try it out!  You may have some other ideas on how to make these, as well–so keep in touch.

About onlifeandbeans

I like to make the adventure taste good by cooking tasty, wholesome food. Most of what I've learned in cooking, I've picked up from cookbooks and lots of practice. (Thank you, Fannie Farmer, for the right start. ) I so appreciate cookbooks that tell how and why to do something; that's why I do the same for my readers. I want to know what is in my food. I want my family to sit down and share a meal together. I want our food to taste good. Home-cooking takes time, but it gives back rich dividends in budget minding, good health and familial love. One meal at a time.

One response »

  1. Hooray! Glad you were able to tweek the recipe to work for your family. We made them last night and topped them with hummus and tiger sauce – yummy. Really, any way you eat them is just grand, I have found. We love having the mix in the fridge to fry some up for an easy lunch, too. What do most lunches look like at your house?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

