RSS Feed

leftovers. plastic wrap.

We had leftovers tonight.

Leftovers are quick to fix.  They are obviously budget friendly.  And, reheating last night’s ________ is a great way to teach the kids how to make the most efficient use of resources.

(I’ll try not to think of it as much as “leftovers” and more like a social studies class on conservation.  I guess all those grade school lessons I got in Kansas about saving the Ogallala Aquifer  just keep welling up inside me.  Heh. heh.)

Here’s to hoping that you are courageous enough to give your loved ones leftovers!

But how will you store them in the refrigerator?  Nasty stained plastic containers with broken lids?  Expensive plastic wrap that you use once and throw away?

How about putting them in a glass or ceramic bowl and covering them with a plate?

I personally like to pocket the $3 I would have spent on plastic wrap and spend it on a nice brick of tasty parmesan cheese.  🙂

About onlifeandbeans

I like to make the adventure taste good by cooking tasty, wholesome food. Most of what I've learned in cooking, I've picked up from cookbooks and lots of practice. (Thank you, Fannie Farmer, for the right start. ) I so appreciate cookbooks that tell how and why to do something; that's why I do the same for my readers. I want to know what is in my food. I want my family to sit down and share a meal together. I want our food to taste good. Home-cooking takes time, but it gives back rich dividends in budget minding, good health and familial love. One meal at a time.

One response »

  1. Amen!
    We tossed our plastic a few years ago and bought wide-mouth mason jars. They work very well for most stuff. I have to admit that we still cover bowls or pans with plastic wrap in the fridge, though we never heat with it in place. I like the plate idea, but have not had good success with it… they seem to get knocked aside and the food spilled onto or dried out. Any ideas??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

