RSS Feed

Drinks at the table for a herd of small children….

Tumblers tumble.

The narrow bottom, the wide top–yep, it’s a sure design for a roll-over accident.  Six kids sitting at a small table with six tumblers = 4 towels, one mop, and a change of clothes.  AND wasted milk that probably got cried over.

What about sippee cups, you say?  I really don’t like them one bit.  They are plastic which has all kinds of weird chemicals in it.  They are hard to clean.  They are hard to find lids for.  They are expensive to lose.  They get drug around the house.  They hide the milk that you want the kids to drink, so the milk just gets wasted.  They don’t dry in the dishwasher.  They ARE, however, quite good at growing cheese.

So, at our house, we use ceramic MUGS.  I love them because they don’t tip, I can carry 4 or five of them to the table with one hand, they easily go in the dishwasher and come out clean and dry.  On top of that, I am teaching my kids how to drink out of a real cup, one that doesn’t have a lid or straw.

The only disadvantage is that they do break.  So we buy cheap ones in bulk at a local restaurant supply place.  I like to have “matching” ones just to make things look pretty.  But you can find mugs for 10 cents at garage sales.

Bring the kids on over and I’ll let them eat lunch and drink milk out of a mug.  It will be fun!

About onlifeandbeans

I like to make the adventure taste good by cooking tasty, wholesome food. Most of what I've learned in cooking, I've picked up from cookbooks and lots of practice. (Thank you, Fannie Farmer, for the right start. ) I so appreciate cookbooks that tell how and why to do something; that's why I do the same for my readers. I want to know what is in my food. I want my family to sit down and share a meal together. I want our food to taste good. Home-cooking takes time, but it gives back rich dividends in budget minding, good health and familial love. One meal at a time.

7 responses »

  1. I’ve recently started using mugs more and more, for all the same reasons. What I think your post is going to prompt me to do is go to my kitchen and pitch the tumbling tumblers! The older kids still tend to get them for the littles, something I could easily eliminate if I just pitched them. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yep! The joy of ceramic mugs is something I learned long ago from you, and it’s great! One funny thing that has happened a few times is that they’ve mistaken my old cup of coffee (cold) for their milk, and not looking, taken a drink – YUCK!! Pretty funny, and a tiny price to pay for VERY few spills. Hooray for mugs!

    Reply
  3. We have been blessed with one set of mugs that are a little shallow and have a wider mouth. These features make it easier for Jun to get her spoon in and Out of it with soup or hot chocolate without spilling so much. Guess we COULD use a bowl for hot chocolate. Hmm.

    Reply
  4. i love you guys (the Lowrys and the commenters). Reading this blog makes me happy. I just hope I remember to only cook a few lentils and not a whole bag for just me. Wait, I’ll just have folks over for supper! The more mugs the merrier!

    Reply
  5. Sippy cups are evil. You go, girl.

    Reply
  6. We’ve had lunch w/ you and those mugs! Fun times!

    Reply
  7. Yes! I have come to this very same conclusion! I ask for coffee mugs at restaurants for the littles. Moms of herds, unite!
    From, Dana (mother of 5)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

