RSS Feed

Wake up and taste it. The patty needs a makeover.

This article is subtitled:  How to slowly numb your taste buds.

SO, I decided to make Salmon Cakes (A.K.A. Salmon PATTIES) for supper tonight.  I made them like I always make them, except maybe I didn’t cook them with enough oil and I cooked them too long and I added an unfavorable seasoning, but other than that, they were just like always.  The difference tonight was that I was thinking about you, dear readers.  I was thinking about the score of desperate moms looking for a healthy, cheap, quick meal.  How I so wanted to introduce you to the fabulous (?) world of canned salmon.

I mixed it up, took pictures, fried it up, took pictures, and then I sat down to my salmon patty and I tasted it.

I didn’t just dutifully eat it, I tasted it.

I didn’t like it.

It was dry, unflavorful, and blah.  It needed a sauce.

Then I asked myself, why am I making these for my family?

Because they are really cheap, quick, and full of fabulous Omega 3 fatty acids, that’s why.

But these particular salmon patties  are not good.

But, they SHOULD be good.  So, I am going to find out how to make these wonderful salmon cakes so tasty that my kids will beg to eat them, and you will be delighted to serve them to your family.

And the lesson is this:

Just because I have made a food 400 times and my family has eaten it 400 times does not mean it is good.

What would happen if we actually tasted our food?  Would we like how it tastes?  Do we really like how hamburger helper tastes?  Or is it just familiar?

May you desire to eat luscious, moist, flavorful food that tastes good.

 

About onlifeandbeans

I like to make the adventure taste good by cooking tasty, wholesome food. Most of what I've learned in cooking, I've picked up from cookbooks and lots of practice. (Thank you, Fannie Farmer, for the right start. ) I so appreciate cookbooks that tell how and why to do something; that's why I do the same for my readers. I want to know what is in my food. I want my family to sit down and share a meal together. I want our food to taste good. Home-cooking takes time, but it gives back rich dividends in budget minding, good health and familial love. One meal at a time.

3 responses »

  1. Love the blog, Andrea! I love beans. And cornbread. And I can’t wait for your salmon patty makeover …

    Reply
  2. I am laughing and laughing and laughing! Can’t wait for the “good” recipe!!!

    Reply
  3. I cheat when I make these. I use canned tuna. I also include saltines, an egg or two, parmesean cheese (not the stuff in the can) a splash of spicy mustard, salt and pepper. La La! The young ladies snarf them like funnel cakes at the fair. If you want some extra flair I have coated them with day old bread crumbs pulsed in the blender to make a fine crumb mixture. Have fun experimenting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

