RSS Feed

Black-Eyed Peas (it was supper before it was alternative music)

Well, I love you too much to show you a picture of a pot of cooked black-eyed peas.  You know, it just doesn’t “look” good to the modern eye.  But our family genuinely loves black-eyed peas and cornbread.  Really!

A word about beans and pork.  Typically, most good folks associate beans with ham, bacon, salt pork, or what not.  As I write this, I am licking my lips thinking about the ham and beans my mom makes.  So tasty!  But if I could just persuade you to set aside the pig momentarily, I could introduce you to an incredibly flavorful food–the legume!  Beans have SO MUCH FLAVOR, even before you add ham.  I love the flavor of beans.  And to be honest, the flavor that I thought was “ham” really is the bean.  You’ll have to try it to believe it.

When we make beans without ham, we enjoy a flavorful, high protein, high fiber, no cholesterol, inexpensive meal.  It’s a staple meal for our week.

Here’s how:  I rinse the black eyed peas, dump them in a big pot and cover with water.  I try to give mine more than an hour to cook so that they will cook slowly and tenderly.  I don’t add salt because it makes them tough–the salt comes at the end.  If the pan gets low on water, I just add more.  They’re done when they are tender.  That’s it.

Drain them a little and serve at the table with salt, pepper, cheddar cheese, sour cream, spicy pepper, ranch dressing, or even horseradish.  Bake up a lovely pan of cornbread and delight the kids with that old-fashioned treat, honey butter.  If I have it, I like to serve with a simple salad.

The cost for this big meal that will feed 8 of us: less than $5 without salad, or $8 if we add a good salad

$1.50 for the black-eyed peas (they are sold cheaper than that)

.33 for one box of Jiffy cornbread mix or make your own cornbread from scratch–that’s what we do

cheese, condiments, what not–maybe $1?

honey butter–maybe $1.50? (whip up equal parts butter and honey, make a lot to avoid a fight 🙂

My recommendation for cornbread is the recipe on the package of Aunt Jemima yellow cornmeal.  This recipe comes together in a snap!

1 c. cornmeal

1 c. flour

2 to 4 T. sugar

4 t. baking powder

1/2 t. salt

1 c. milk

1 egg

1/4 c. vegetable oil (we always use olive oil)

Combine the dry ingredients, then add the milk, egg and oil.  Pour batter into greased 9 x 9 square pan or muffin pans.  Bake at 425 for 15 to 18 minutes.

About onlifeandbeans

I like to make the adventure taste good by cooking tasty, wholesome food. Most of what I've learned in cooking, I've picked up from cookbooks and lots of practice. (Thank you, Fannie Farmer, for the right start. ) I so appreciate cookbooks that tell how and why to do something; that's why I do the same for my readers. I want to know what is in my food. I want my family to sit down and share a meal together. I want our food to taste good. Home-cooking takes time, but it gives back rich dividends in budget minding, good health and familial love. One meal at a time.

One response »

  1. I love your blog and all your recipes, so glad you are sharing. Alice Waters is still my favorite author right now too. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

