RSS Feed

Suppertime!

It’s 2:20 now.  My kids will be running in the door from school just shortly.  They’ll want a snack and even as I am wiping the table down from snack, they’ll be asking about supper.  It never ceases to amaze me how supper comes every day, whether I am ready to cook it or not.

But tonight, I’m ready!  We’re having brown rice, black beans and roasted sweet potatoes.  This is tasty food, folks.  And cheap.

This blog is for you–the one who cooks supper every day.  And this blog is for you–the low-end budget shoppper who is likely not shucking out for a subscription to home magazines that headline “Budget Casseroles!”  You’re not buying cookbooks–you check them out from the library.  You’re not buying name brand chocolate sandwich cookies, either.  You’re online today trying to find something easy, cheap and  tasty to feed the family.

About onlifeandbeans

I like to make the adventure taste good by cooking tasty, wholesome food. Most of what I've learned in cooking, I've picked up from cookbooks and lots of practice. (Thank you, Fannie Farmer, for the right start. ) I so appreciate cookbooks that tell how and why to do something; that's why I do the same for my readers. I want to know what is in my food. I want my family to sit down and share a meal together. I want our food to taste good. Home-cooking takes time, but it gives back rich dividends in budget minding, good health and familial love. One meal at a time.

One response »

  1. Hi Andrea! Amy just sent me your blog info!!! We have been living on chicken breasts here for the past 4 months or so. The cheapest meat to be bought in Japan! Go figure! Obviously I don’t mind, but…

    We plan to move to the US at the end of March and live frugally for at least 2 years. As in, no salary but what I can mange to earn.

    So, cheap cooking American style is going to be very important for me to learn and Ryu and Jun to learn to like!

    Let me know if you have another blog about raising kiddos! I love your FB update stories!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

